Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 14th, 2011

Just a Day

Had a great time last night with my friend from Webster and her friend, I was out late enough my youngest daughter texted me to find out where I was, I guess she was afraid I was in ER or something like that.  It was 11:30 when she checked on me and it was almost two before I got home and got to bed.  I really enjoyed both my Friend Mary and her friend, and we hope to get together again, maybe on a monthly basis.  Found out her friend may have been an art teacher for my kids when they were in elementary school!

Had two medical appointments late yesterday afternoon, and at the first one, as I was waiting (he doctor was running late) I went outside and took some pictures of a hibiscus, and also of their office’s flower containers.  When I came back in, I had been looking at their peace lily and it’s blooms and took some of those flowers, but will tell more about it later on, as I will show the pictures later.  I am sitting in the room of UMSL’s West County Continuing Education campus, and do not find a place to slip my sd card in from my camera, so cannot upload the photos yet.

Sometimes, or, many times, I feel after a counseling session that I didn’t get anything out of it, and have even mentioned it to the counselor, and he and I talked about that last night, and how hard I am on myself.  When I left there and was on my way to meet my friend, I started thinking about it, and I think I figured out why.  I have very high expectations when I go in there, that I will come out feeling really good, and on top of the world, and everything is fine again, and that’s not the case, it takes time to work through all that I have been through, and it’s a slow process.  But, I know I will feel the same way each and everytime I go to counseling, because that’s the way I am, very impatient.  I k now I get that from my mom, and have known that for  a long time, but never really associated my impatience with the way I feel as I try to grieve again, and to regroup my life and my thoughts.  I know this is something the counselor and I will have to keep working on, and I appreciate his patience with me as I try to learn how to do this.  I am usually very patient with other people, but not myself.  As I have said before , my full time job is fine now, little to no stress, and I like what I am doing very much, and am not sure now whether I will retire when it’s time, or keep working for a while, part of that will depend on whether my brother comes to live with me or not, but my counselor tells me to take one day at a time, so that is not something tot dwell on at this time, it’s in the future.  Today is today and I need to live it and get through it to the best of my ability.

At the first appointment I had yesterday afternoon, the lady at the reception desk told me she had been reading my blogs and was really enjoying them, and that I was good at writing, and that is nice that she, as well as others, are reading my postings.  That’s what it’s all about, sharing my thoughts, ideas and life, with others. 

Had better get ready, the workshop  on intermediate excel will be starting soon, it is a retake for me, as last summer I had just come back from picking blackberries in the country and during the class, I came down with heat exhaustion and was extremely sick.  This time, I am letting someone else do the picking for me!  Keep on reading and sharing, countrygirl29

Read Full Post »